City Council

The City Council is the legislative, or law-making, branch of New York City's government. The City Council is responsible for passing local laws, making decisions about land use, investigating and overseeing city agencies, and approving the city's budget. Each Council member represents one of the 51 New York City Council districts. Council members receive an annual base salary of $112,500. Council leaders and chairs of committees receive additional pay. Council members may hold other jobs in addition to their Council seats.


View by District

The following is a list of New York City Council Districts. Click on a district name for a list of all primary candidates running in that district. Even if there is no primary race in your Council district, you will still be able to vote in primary races for mayor, public advocate, comptroller, and borough president if you are enrolled in a party holding a primary for those offices.



*Indicated there is no primary in the district.


View Alphabetically
The following is a list of all city council primary candidates, organized alphabetically. Click on a name to view a candidate’s profile. Click on the corresponding district for a list of all the primary candidates running in that district. Some candidates listed below (those with an asterick after their names) have not submitted a candidate profile by the deadline for producing and mailing the printed Guide.

Alabi, Olanike T. District 35 Lewis, Prince D* District 42
Alvarez, Albert District 15 Lisyanskiy, John District 47
Alvarez, Pedro District 16 Lopez, Vito J. District 34
Arroyo, Maria del Carmen District 17 Lucas, Nikki District 42
Banks, Christopher W District 42 Maisel, Alan District 46
Barksdale, Alicia D District 07 Mancuso, John District 50
Barron, Inez D. District 42 Mark-Viverito, Melissa District 08
Batista, Raquel E. District 15 Martinez, Israel* District 14
Bauza, Joel District 15 Mashariki, Jelani District 35
Berkley, Carlton District 16 Mateo, Heriberto District 37
Bhushan, Natraj District 48 Matteo, Steven District 50
Biberaj, Ken District 06 Mays, Gregory District 27
Braunstein, Aaron* District 06 Mealy, Darlene District 41
Brown, Ricardo A. District 31 Menchaca, Carlos District 38
Cabrera, Fernando District 14 Mendez, Rosie District 02
Cardona, Ralina M District 08 Miller, I. Daneek District 27
Castellanos-Rodriguez, Francesca District 10 Mirocznik, Mendy District 50
Caughman, Manuel District 27 Moore, William Russell District 18
Chin, Margaret S District 01 Morgan, Vincent S District 09
Ciafone, John J. District 22 Muhammed, Naaimat District 16
Cohen, Andrew District 11 Narcisse, Mercedes District 46
Constantinides, Costa District 22 Oberman, Igor District 48
Cooper, Debra District 06 Oloruntoba (Toba), Adeyemi LaCrown District 12
Cornegy, Jr., Robert E District 36 Omotosho, Bola District 16
Council, Kimberly N District 37 Otto, Mark T District 07
Cumbo, Laurie A. District 35 Pabon, Julio District 17
Daniel, Kathleen District 41 Pahaham, Cheryl District 10
Del Rio, Richard (Rick) District 02 Palma, Annabel District 18
Deutsch, Chaim M. District 48 Peeden, Sondra H. District 27
Dickens, Inez E. District 09 Pierson, Stephen E. District 33
Dobrin, Todd A District 47 Powell, Hettie V. District 28
Duane, John F. District 19 Powell, Regina District 42
Duncan, Michael R. District 31 Prentzas, Constantinos District 22
Edie, Lenford District 12 Rahman, Mujib U District 24
Espinal Jr., Rafael L. District 37 Rajkumar, Jenifer District 01
Eugene, Mathieu District 40 Ramadan, Zead District 07
Evans, Eugen W* District 28 Reynoso, Antonio District 34
Flowers, Joan District 27 Richards, Donovan District 31
Flusberg, Jacob M District 44 Rivera, Joel R District 15
Fox, Ede S. District 35 Rodriguez, Ydanis A. District 10
Foy, Kirsten J District 36 Rosenthal, Helen K. District 06
Gardner, Sean District 08 Ruiz, William District 32
Gibson, Vanessa L District 16 Santiago, Gladys District 34
Giovinazzo, Lisa District 50 Santos, Edward District 08
Gonzalez, Sara M. District 38 Sasscer-Burgos, David S District 07
Goodwin, Gwen District 08 Scavo, Theresa R. District 48
Gotbaum, Noah District 06 Shafran, Austin I. District 19
Grant, John District 40 Sheikh, Helal A. District 37
Graziano, Paul D. District 19 Sierra, Carlos M District 16
Greenfield, David G. District 44 Similien, Jean H. District 45
Hartzog, Edward A District 05 Simon, Lew M. District 32
Henry, Sean K. District 42 Soto, Humberto District 34
Humphreys, Tamika District 08 Stanton, Clifford District 11
Hurley, Frank Richard District 35 Swiney, Reginald* District 36
Johnson, Corey D District 03 Tejada, Luis M District 07
Johnson, Daryl L. District 16 Thomas, Saundra P District 40
Johnson, Joyce District 07 Thompkins, Cynthia District 15
Johnson, Pamela A. District 12 Tillard, Conrad District 36
Kagan, Ari District 48 Torres, Ritchie District 15
Kallos, Benjamin J District 05 Treyger, Mark District 47
Kayode, David District 28 Vallone, Paul A District 19
Kellner, Micah Z. District 05 Vanel, Clyde District 27
Kinard, Stanley* District 41 Vargas, Ruben Dario District 07
Kinard, Sylvia G. District 40 Veras, Andrea M District 24
King, Andrew L District 12 Voskerichian, Chrissy District 19
Kurland, Yetta District 03 Waterman, Robert M. District 36
Lancman, Rory I District 24 Whitehead, John C District 42
Landis, Marc A District 06 Williams, Godwin* District 45
Lantigua, Manuel O. District 07 Williams, Jumaane D District 45
Levin, Stephen T. District 33 Wills, Ruben District 28
Levine, Mark D. District 07 Wymore, Mel District 06


* If there is an asterisk next to a candidate's name, s/he did not submit a profile or record a video.